Mail: website

As a lot of my colleague underwater videographers I owe much to Jaques-Yves Cousteau, the founding father of scuba diving and underwater filming worldwide. As a child I was fascinated by his television shows broadcasted on Dutch National television. Back then I decided to become a scuba diver myself one day. I started scuba diving in 1995 and worked my way up to become a PADI Master Scuba Diver and a PADI Divemaster.

After taking the “Underwater Photography” course of SSI in 1997 I was occupied with analogue underwater photography until I made a switch to digital underwater photography ten years later.

As a passionate scuba diver and storyteller I benefitted of the technological revolution, which did wonders for the quality of underwater filming. In 2013 a long-cherished wish came true when I switched from photography to Full HD underwater videography. I debuted with my first independent production in 2014 and was awarded on several occasions at international film festivals which encouraged me to improve my underwater filming.

In 2015 I started to compete in video subs or ‘shoot out’ competitions. The additional stress to produce a complete video production during a limited time triggered me. These competitions require a completely different kind of production than those made in my own pace. My highlight so far is representing The Netherlands and being awarded as runner-up at the CMAS European Championships Underwater Video 2016 in La Herradura (Spain).

Welcome at my website!

I was honoured to represent The Netherlands and the Dutch diving federation NOB during the CMAS European Championships underwater videography (October 4th-9th 2016) in La Herradura (Spain) for which I teamed up with Yvonne Tijmes. We made three dives during this competition and after these dives all competitors had to edit a complete videoproduction in five hours time.

My videoproduction “The Sea” was awarded with the silver medal becoming vice-European Champion. Awarded European Champion was Jose Carlos Rando Lara from Spain and German World Champion 2014 Katja Kieslich was awarded the bronze medal.


We are tied to the ocean. And when we go back to the sea, whether it is to sail or to watch - we are going back from whence we came.

John F. Kennedy

Last update: April 14th 2017

The Medes Islands are an archipelago of several islets covering one nautical mile of sea, just off the coastline of L’Estartit on the Costa Brava (Spain), offering some of the best scuba diving in Spain. I'm a Dutch ambasador for divecenter Aquàtica Illes Medes in L'Estartit. If you want to go diving there don't hesitate to contact me: